From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Darren's Weekly Nugget 10/02/2006

Did you know there were a lot of famous people born on October 2nd?  Mahatma Gandhi, Groucho Marx, Johnnie Cochran, Sting, to name a few.  Well, it also happens that, 29 years ago today, in Corpus Christi, TX, your favorite nugget master was born.  That's right, today is my birthday, too!  So for today's nugget, I'm going to make some birthday wishes...LabVIEW wishes, that is.  You see, I may work at NI on the LabVIEW R&D team, but at the end of the day, I'm a LabVIEW developer just like all of you, and I have to make feature requests just like everybody else...sure, I can write some of the features I want myself (check these out), but for others, sometimes all I can do is just submit a feature request.  So maybe, since it's my birthday, if you feel so inclined, and if you think you could benefit from some of these, you could visit the Product Suggestion Center too and tell LabVIEW R&D how much you'd like to see some of the following features (these are in no particular order, just things I've encountered while doing some pretty intense LabVIEW programming the past few weeks):
  • "Edit > Create SubVI" creates a subVI with a 4x2x2x4 connector pane and the error I/O already wired in the bottom corners.  I guess more generally, it could use a template VI.  Ooh, yeah, that would be cool, because then I could have a custom icon assigned for my new subVIs, too.
  • Right-clicking on a VI in the project and choosing "Add to Source Control" happens automatically with no dialogs.  Currently I see two dialogs, one to confirm the add, and one to indicate the add was successful.  I only want to see a dialog if an error occurs.