Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

usb communication

I'm trying to use USB communication in VISA for the first time.

I'm using a device for which I already have device drivers and a DLL.  This works fine.  I am also able to interrogate the USB communication using SnoopyPro.

I have implemented the VISA driver using the VISA device driver wizard, and it seems to be up and running.  I can also access the USB attributes programatically.

My problem is getting even the simple exchange in the picture to run in VISA.  I have never programmed USB before, so I may be a bit lost.....

Can someone tell me how to implement this simple exchange in VISA.  I know it requires using the "VISA USB Control out" and "VISA USB Control in" VIs, but I've no idea what to wire where.....

Thanks for every piece of helpful information, no matter how small.

Shane.

Message Edited by shoneill on 10-18-2007 12:40 PM

Using LV 6.1 and 8.2.1 on W2k (SP4) and WXP (SP2)
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(4,885 Views)

Hi shoneill,

If you have the driver dll for your device, why would you create a new one?

I would just call the functions in the dll to communicate with the instrument.

Creating your own usb driver requires deep knowledge about usb specs and standards.

Below a link to another discussion about creating your own usb driver.

What kind of device would you like to communicate with?

Evrem

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(4,850 Views)
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(4,851 Views)
I know the route over the DLL works.  I've been using this for a few years now.

It's not about the ability to use the device, it's about learning how to interface over USB......  I want to solve the problems because I want to learn how to use USB RAW communications.

As you have seen, I am able to capture the appropriate information when using the DLL driver.  I want to be able to re-create this in LabVIEW to do away with the DLL.