From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW Communications System Design Suite

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

80 MHz bandwidth in 802.11 Application Framework

Hello,

I am studying the performance of the 802.11 ac standard using NI USRP 2954R. For this, I need the 80 MHz bandwidth. As the white paper states, this is possible:

Note that in the FPGA bitfiles included in the Application Framework project template, 80 MHz bandwidth support is disabled, so only options 1 to 3 are applicable. To enable options 4 and 5, the bitfile must be rebuilt with the 80 MHz Boolean enabled in the supported bandwidth cluster.

I have done this, and created the cases in the VIs for the 80 MHz bandwidth. However, I can't see results, the throughput being 0, and only 1 packet start detected.

What am I missing?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Cristian

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(7,441 Views)

Hi Cristian,

It is my understanding that you also need to redesign the bit processing modules of TX and RX to work in parallel. Besides that, it seems like you got the right thing. That is a super basic version of the answer. I am working to see if I can provide a more thorough answer.

Cheers,

Michael

Michael Bilyk
Former NI Software Engineer (IT)
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(7,378 Views)

Hi Michael,

Thank you for your time. I could not find out (yet) what modifications should I do in the bit processing modules nor in other modules since it seems that the cases are already made for the 80 MHz bandwidth. What I found out was that in the Power Measurement module, in the FIR Low Pass Filter.gcdl the case for 80 MHz was not made, but I am not sure whether this change is enough.

I find this very intriguing...any help is appreciated..

Thanks in advance!