From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Data logging of multiple standalone usb instruments

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi All,

I'm new to LabView and looking for example code for data logging of multiple standalone usb instruments. There are examples for single instruments but I can't seem to find example code where multiple instruments are used. For my application I was envisaging logging data from multiple instruments in a test environment (e.g. Lake Shore 336, Agilent N8731A, Keysight 34461A, Tektronix PA3000 etc) at say 1 sec intervals. I was thinking of connecting the standalone instruments via a USB hub into a PC running labview. Most instruments we're using appear to have LV VIs available. If anyone has developed a similar application or can point me to some examples to assist me that would be great!

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,060 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author pob@qut

If you have an example involving a While loop or similar for one instrument, and then you have multiple instruments, and you want them to run at the same rate, you can just put them all side by side (or probably more clearly, on top of each other) in the same While loop.

The important point here would be that they need to each take the same amount of time in the While loop - for example, if Instrument A reads 1000 samples at 1kHz, and Instrument B reads 10 samples at 10Hz, then you're fine - they both want to loop at a 1Hz rate.