Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to control a serial push button box

Solved!
Go to solution

Dear Sir or Madame,

I am relatively new in LabView and National Instruments, but am trying to capture the reaction time of a human participant.

A simple example of the tasks that I hope to accomplish is described as follows. I think I will first write a Labview program to present two pure tones to the listener (one at a time) , with one tone having a higher pitch than the other. That is, the pure tone acoustic sounds will be delivered to the listener's ears via a regular computer headphone set. After listening to the two tones, the participant's job is to discriminate which tone has a higher pitch and press a button accordingly. My question is related with the push-buttons... It is my understanding that the push-buttons can be:

(1) software push-buttons that are displayed on a computer touch screen monitor,

(2) physical push-buttons on a separate response box that is connected to a serial port on a PC, or

(3) physical push-buttons on a separate response box that is connected to a NI hardware (an I/O control card, maybe !!??)