Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to control laser by computer

Hello,

I'm a student and for first time I'm having an approach with this kind of problem.

I have to control a diode laser by computer, so now my question is, what kind of device I have to use between the computer and the laser?

How can I link this device with the computer and the laser?

What kind of interface I have to use?

The idea is to use Labview.

Thank you very much for your time.

Regards.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(3,576 Views)

What is the model of the laser?  What interfaces does the laser have?  You just haven't given any information for us to help.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(3,555 Views)

I know and I'm sorry but I told you, it's first time that I have to approach to this subject.

About the type of laser, I think about a GaAs/GaAlAs diode laser, I need it for a wireless comunication in free space between 2 buildings, something like 30/40m. About the wavelenght, maybe 1060nm which gives low atmospheric scattering. About the interface, I saw that the most of this kind of laser use a BNC connector.

I hope now I gave enough information, if not, I'm sorry, ask me what else.

Thank you again.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(3,549 Views)

A BNC connector means next to nothing.  What is the protocol used to communicate with the laser?  Ethernet (yes, I have seen Ethernet through BNC connectors)?  Straight digital pulses?  High voltage pulses?  If you don't know what interfaces the laser uses, you can't do anything with it.

GCentral
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos