From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Academic Hardware Products (myDAQ, myRIO)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buffer Size USB 6009

I am new with NI and Labview. In my application,  the sampling rate is 20 kHz. With 14 bit resolution the sample size for 2 seconds will be 70KB. The FIFO buffer on the USB 6009 is of 512 Bits. I can't reduce the sampling rate. What can be the possible solutions:

1.    Can I somehow, increase the buffer size?
2.    Or I have to go for real time data transfer to PC using realtime LabView?
3.    Or have to change hardware?

Zaidi

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(9,064 Views)

Hello Zaidi,

The USB-6009 has an AI FIFO size of 512 bytes and max sample rate of 48kS/s. The USB-6009 also uses the USB 2.0 Full-Speed specification which has a bus speed of 12Mb/s for data transfer. You cannot increase the size of the onboard FIFO, but you should not need to for your application. As you are acquiring data, the DAQmx driver will be transferring the data from the device into your PC memory continuously. Therefore, you will not need to store all 70KB of your data on the board at once. Instead, this data will be placed into your PC memory while it waits to be copied into your application (such as by the DAQmx Read function). For more information on how this process works, please refer to the NI-DAQmx Help section for Buffering, found in NI-DAQmx Help » NI-DAQmx Key Concepts » Reading and Writing Data » Buffering. Specifically, the section titled “How Is Buffer Size Determined?” may be helpful in explaining how the size of the PC buffer is determined and how you can control the buffer size. Hope this helps,

Daniel S.
National Instruments
Message 2 of 4
(9,045 Views)